Ugh I’m struggling. I think I have effed up

Ugh I’m struggling. I think I have effed up my life again. 3 1/2 years clean and not using illegal drugs, but I feel like I am heading straight to relapse mode. I’m abusing melatonin so I can sleep.

3 Likes

Hi Emily, you can do this! Has something triggered your inability to sleep? Maybe you can replace melatonin with an activity that can help you sleep. Maybe try a chamomile tea instead, or valerian root.

Hey Eric thanks for responding. I’ve been sliding a little here and there for about 2 months now. The suggestion that has worked in the past is 15 minutes of reading and 15 minutes of writing. I just have to be willing to do that instead of taking the easy way, ya know? But now that the secret is out, sponsor will help me with 30 in 30 meetings and meditations, daily gratitude list, and throwing the melatonin away.

3 Likes

Meditation to fall asleep is a good one for me-there is a guy named three trees on facebook-he does Thursday night healing meditations...pretty powerful. I think he started my healing...but not sure-certainly does not happen overnight!

3 Likes

Yes, reading and writing can be a great way to wind down and decompress after a long day, whether good or bad. Those other ways sound wonderful too! Great courage and will power! You're strong mama

1 Like

The very fact that you recognize that you may be slipping is a step in the right direction which may not have happened before.
Use that as an opportunity to find alternatives. You’re doing great, you can do this.

3 Likes

I agree with valerian root. But do your homework as valerian can react with some medicines. Also if you are not on any benzo's two benadryl will be a better choice. Everyone these days seems to have one or more allergies!

Yeah I don’t think I can use any substances because this addict will always want more. There’s always a solution that doesn’t involve substances.

4 Likes