I’ve been sober for a month and never really thought

I’ve been sober for a month and never really thought I’d get to this point and it feel this easy. However I have a bachelor part coming up next month and am toying with enjoying that with or without alcohol involved. I feel like I can control it if I leave it to this one occasion but it feels honestly weird at this point to even reach for a beer. It’s an interesting state of mind.

1 Like

Play it through in your head. How do you think you would feel should you drink again? Be honest with yourself. Do you really want to go back to a meeting and say you have one day? Would you beat yourself up?

3 Likes

At week 3-4 I was starting to doubt if my addiction and drinking was really that bad.. but I recognized how irrational that line of thinking is and it was just my addiction trying to convince my brain it was ok to use or drink again. So I looked it up, and sure enough - week 3-5 is usually when your brain tries to trick you into thinking you aren’t an addict, and can stop at one drink or one hit of a drug. Just my opinion, since I was struggling with the same thinking recently!

5 Likes

It’s like there’s 2 minds combating each other. The one who says “you can drink and control it” vs the one who says “you shouldnt even try drinking again”. Its tough because I was always a weekender to begin with so Sunday through Thursday I never touched alcohol so I do have some discipline. It’s just those weekend days where I’m rolling the dice. And 9/10 times I’d be okay but that 1 time every 2-3 months I’d black out. I feel like I’m playing with fire.

1 Like

I’m already second guessing if I’m