I’m new to the app, but not to recovery

I’m new to the app, but not to recovery. I have a difficult time attending in person meetings and making new friends due to social anxiety I’ve had since I was young. I recently relapsed and I know that an important part of recovery is having a support system of sober friends to talk to. I’m looking forward to making some friends here

3 Likes

Hey Melissa! I can definitely relate. Fairly new to the app and I haven’t been super active, but sometimes a quick scroll through is enough to remind me why sobriety is so important for me. Feel free to message anytime! I think being behind a screen can make the social anxiety a little less scary.

2 Likes

You have here, there are zoom meetings. You are not alone.

1 Like

Hey Greg, I am also in an IOP group that really helps as well. I need to attend online meetings, but my excuse is time. I always made time to drink, so I should be able to spare an hour a day for a meeting.

1 Like

I am not a big fan of online meetings, guess my age is showing. There was no personal use of internet when I got sober. I enjoy live meetings. This social media is a new thing for me. I figure I can check in at least once a day. Happy you are here, welcome.

1 Like

Hi Melissa. Welcome.

Have you thought about virtual meetings? Maybe you can connect with some in the virtual meetings and have an e-friendship (Facebook, Instagram, meetings) until you're ready for in person friendships. You definitely have us here at Loosid.

1 Like

I did a few virtual meetings last year when I was in rehab, and keep meaning to go but always “forget” I do attend peer support online meetings and IOP group online.

I am here for you😊

1 Like

As I am here for you!

Life is not “the hallmark channel”. We all have issues. You are not alone, my new friend!! I am with you on our journey!!!!!!

1 Like

It is so wonderful that we have a support system!!!

1 Like