Hi everyone, I’m new here. I have needed to get

Hi everyone, I’m new here. I have needed to quit drinking for years and have finally gotten to the point where I am ready. I am a binge drinker and smoker and for years convinced myself I didn’t have an issue because I didn’t drink every day and only dabbled with drugs. But I can see how much alcohol has taken from me and affected my relationships. This is going to be hard for me because I work in a restaurant, not to mention have a brother who is a mixologist and most of my friends drink. But I am ready to make the change, even if it means my relationships change. I don’t want one more ridiculous charge in my account from a blackout night, one more regret or sketchy situation, or one more moment of being too hungover to function or do my best. That’s pretty much it, any advice you all have for newly sober people is much appreciated! My first AA meeting in NYC is tomorrow.

12 Likes

Congrats and welcome to the community!

1 Like

Stay strong, stay focused, definitely stay connected to meetings regularly the first three months

1 Like

Thank you🙏

Thank you so much for the encouragement🙏

Welcome Katie!