Hi everyone, I decided to make changes in my life 1

Hi everyone,
I decided to make changes in my life 1,058 days ago. Anxiety and stress still seem to be an issue. I'm a teacher so that's part of it. Anyway, I have unpleasant flashbacks at times. I'm so happy that I don't medicate myself any longer. The anxiety is a bit much. I don't have a sponsor, but open to it now. I exercise regularly. I sing, play alto sax & piano. So, I have plenty to do. I'm trying to date, but not sure because most drink and feel uncomfortable around me. Need support. Even as I write this, the tears are coming.

7 Likes

Hi Nicole. I’m sorry you’re hurting. If you want to chat I’m here.

Have you checked out the dating section on this app?

Did you reach out to AA for a sponsor?

1 Like

Anyone who can handle 30+ kids at a time is a hero and handling the stress is amazing. If you are interested in a sponsor I recommend hitting up some meetings. They will have folks they can recommend

1 Like

Thanks Amanda for reaching out to me.
I will recheck the dating app. I was on this site before, but left bc these foreign guys were playing games & I got discouraged.
No, I didn't reach out to AA.
Pre-pandemic, I went to a few meetings, but I find them very hostile. I know what caused me to medicate myself. I'll try again, but how do I access them now? I live in Long Island, but willing to travel.

Hi Steve,
Thanks for reaching to me. And thank you!
Is my having a sponsor based on me going to meetings? I tried some, but like I told Amanda, I find AA hostile. I know my story and they insist on forcing me to believe otherwise.
So contact my local AA?

Honestly a sponsor really depends on the type of program you do. AA isn't the only game out there just the most widely known, and the one I am most familiar with. You can always try dharma recovery or any of the other programs.

1 Like

Thanks again, Steve. I'll research dharma. I don't know of any other programs, other than AA & the program ,dharma.