Hi everybody. I’m new to this whole thing here

I have a problem, I drink every day. After work the first thing I do when I get home is grab a drink, and drink until I go too bed. That’s not what I want to do anymore so I’m looking for suggestions on how to stay away from the drinking. Is anybody else just starting out that we could go through this together and hold each other accountable. It’s much easier to do this with someone that’s in the same situation at the same time together.

1 Like

David. Glad you're here. It sounds as if you are already at step one of the AA program. 'We admitted that we were powerless over alcohol and that our lives had become unmanageable'

I would suggest finding an AA meeting either in person (best IMO,) or at the very least log in to a zoom meeting of AA. You can just listen and perhaps you will hear your own story being told there. In my experience sobriety means so much more than simply not drinking. If you stick around long enough, I think you will agree. Best wishes!

2 Likes

Hi

Welcome David!
Congrats on taking the first step! Going to my first meeting was this second best thing I’ve ever done for myself. There I was able to not only hear my story but hear others share their story which put my story from being a level ten in the oh my goodness my life is over scale to a level 2 as others have had a much severe impact on their lives. Finding a sponsor is key to not doing this alone. You may not need to find someone with similar sobriety dates. Someone with some time under their belt I believe would be more beneficial as they can guide you through your sobriety.

1. Go to meetings
  2. Listen listen listen
  3. Get sponsor
  4. Get literature/books
  5. Read the big book
  6. Practice your program daily
  7. Become open minded
  8. speak at meetings- your story may help someone else you is new.
    I hope this has helped you. Have a wonderful day filled with love and peace within!
1 Like