Hey friends. This is my first time trying to quit

Hey friends. This is my first time trying to quit. I don't have strong urges but I have been avoiding social situations because all of my friends drink. I'm starting to notice situations arise that where I'd usually have a drink (boredom, drink with dinner, eating cheese without wine). I think drinking was a hobby for me. I loved craft beer and trying wines. Another thing I'm noticing is the topic of alcohol is everywhere...movies, billboards, coworkers and friends mention alcohol all the time. I'm 21 days in. Do you have any tips for me on how to navigate these situations?

7 Likes

First things first… Congratulations! I’m def rooting for ya!

Two ideas…

Find or create an image that visually represents why you wanted to quit (keep it cryptic if your afraid of others seeing it). Alternatively, find a quote graphic that reminds you of the person you want to be.

Save the image as your :iphone: wallpaper so you’ll see it during many of those moments of temptation…assuming you check your :iphone: a lot like most people these days.

Get a little 3 x 5 note card or something like it, on one side write the reasons you wanted to quit in the first place. On the other side, have a list of people or resources you can call for support.

Carry it around with you at all times and when those moments arise, see if you can get yourself to take it out and give it a look.

Hope it helps.

— Loby

3 Likes

Thank you! Great idea about the cryptic image. And the card i can keep in my wallet

1 Like

I found milkshakes in the beginning were especially helpful with the cravings... and I'm two years sober now. You can do this. You are stronger than you think you are.

1 Like