Hey everyone! Newbie here

Ive been a lurker on a lot of sober curious and sober community groups for some time now. Ive been wanting to change my relationship with alcohol for over a year now and have been debating adapting a sober lifestyle. However, the thought of giving up alcohol is pretty intimadating, and a majority of my friends go to the bars pretty regularly. I already struggle with the feeling of loneliness and think giving up that social aspect of drinking would only make things worse.

How did you get over these initial hurdles? Im willing to make sober friends but i dont even know where to start.

2 Likes

I had almost a year and relapsed so this time I'm also trying to take a different approach, I am back in treatment and have found one sober support girl but my friends outside of work are at a minimum right now. I haven't tried venturing to that extent with people yet and don't know how to go about it either really, I wish you luck though, apparently having people there is important.

I do not know if you have tried AA or not but there is a fellowship of people who have gone through what you are going through. I've been there myself but once sober I found myself doing all kinds of things. And the great part is if I travel somewhere I can always find a meeting and feel comfortable. Sobriety is is so much more than not drinking. Get involved and good luck!

Ok, so, the alcoholic brain will try to negotiate for anything that will keep the booze in play.

You’ll need to find different people (sober friends/support) places (meetings in lieu of bars) and things (anything but intoxicants).